My Summer Foundation Routine

I love doing my makeup in the morning. There is something about applying products to my face that is very relaxing, and I love layering them on! In the summer though, I don’t want to have a ton of products on my face. Here is what I use for a lighter weight base when I still want to wear a full face of makeup.

Step One: elf blemish control face primer

IMG_2370

I really like this stuff. It is inexpensive (about $6) but the packaging is actually really nice–it’s in a glass bottle with a pump, and the way the pump works lets you get all the product out. I tend to get more breakouts in the summer, what with sweat, sunscreen, etc clogging up my pores, and I do feel like this helps to minimize them while still giving me a good base for the rest of my makeup. This is my second bottle of this, so you know it’s a winner!

Step two: pixi Glowtion Day Dew and IT Cosmetics Your Skin but Better CC+ cream 

I love, love, LOVE this pixi Glowtion. It is such a beautiful illuminating moisturizer. I like to dab this on my cheekbones, nose, and forehead. I don’t blend it in right away, but then dot on the CC+ cream and blend it all together. I like using this product in the summer because it has SPF 50, which is a must when you are outside! I have the shade Light, which looks a bit dark when I first put it on, but once I blend it out with the lotion, it sheers out enough that it looks good and offers a nice light coverage. You are supposed to be able to build it up to full coverage, though I have never tried. I prefer to have a more sheer coverage over my entire face, and then spot conceal anywhere that needs it, especially in the summer! I like to blend it in with a brush first, then use my Real Techniques sponge.

Step three: tarte shape tape concealer

IMG_2379

Next step, try my best to conceal my dark circles. I have always had them, even when I get enough sleep. I decided to try the shape tape because it was so hyped up. And I’m glad I tried it! It definitely works better than any concealer I have ever tried. I do want to try the Wet n’ Wild one though, because I have heard good things and it is a tiny fraction of the price! Let me know in the comments if you have tried that one, or any other good cruelty-free concealers!

Step four: set it!

IMG_2378

I don’t like to use too much powder on my face, so I just set under my eyes with the highlighting shade in the Wet n’ Wild megaglo contour palette.

Then I do the rest of my makeup (which I can go into detail on in another post if you are interested). I hope you enjoyed this post, and have a wonderful day!

 

2 thoughts on “My Summer Foundation Routine

Leave a Reply

