Review: tarte Skincare Selections

Hi friends! I hope all of you had a wonderful 4th of July if you are in the US! I was out of town this weekend, so didn’t manage a Saturday post, but I am back! Today I wanted to share a review of some skincare bits from one of my favorite brands–tarte. One thing I really like about tarte is that they sell a lot of their products in travel sizes or in little skincare sets, so you can try out a mini version of the product before deciding whether or not to buy the full size. In this review I will let you know what I have, my thoughts on it, and if I would repurchase, or purchase the full size. I will link all the sets that I bought as well, at the bottom. Some of them had little makeup products in as well, so let me know if you would like a tarte makeup review!

Maracuja Oil

IMG_2411

Let’s start out with a favorite of mine. This is the full size bottle, which tells you I’ve already gone ahead and purchased it! I got it online from Ulta when they were having a sale, so it was $25, as opposed to its usual $48. Honestly though, I would pay the full $48 for this. I use this for so many things–on my face at night, on my lips, on my cuticles. A little bit really goes a long way, so even though I’ve had this bottle for a few months now, I’ve hardly put a dent in it. I think for that reason also it is worth the price–you will not have to repurchase this often. It makes my skin feel soft and smooth. At first I was skeptical of putting an oil on my face, but as long as you use just a few drops, it doesn’t make your skin feel oily, just soft and lovely! I don’t know what maraca is, but I am all about it.

Deep Dive Cleansing Gel

IMG_2414

This is exactly what it sounds like–a cleansing gel. It smells nice, feels good, and does a good job removing my makeup. I use makeup remover wipes first to take off my eye makeup, then use this all over my face. I’m not sure if I will purchase the full size–I do like this product, but I am not sure if it is different enough from other cleansers I have used that are less expensive (for example, my favorite cleanser is this one).

Frxxxtion Stick

This little guy, as you can see from the photo where I have been digging at it to get the last of the product, is well loved. It is an exfoliating charcoal stick that you can use as a mask as well, which is what I like to do. I swipe it all over my face and let it sit for about 10 minutes before washing it off using gentle circular motions. This is not an everyday product, I use it a couple times a week. My skin really feels refreshed and softer when I use it. Highly recommend! I am definitely planning to purchase the full size soon, since this small one is on its last legs.

Drink of H2O Hydrating Boost

As you can see, I have not been using this one for a very long time, so I don’t have the most to say about it. I will be happy to update you all when I’ve been using it longer though! I will say that I really enjoy the consistency of this product–it is more gel-like than many lotions, which makes it feel a bit lighter on my skin, but still hydrating. I definitely appreciate that during these summer months, where my skin is not insanely dry, but I still have dry patches. It has been doing a good job of hydrating them and I’ve noticed that I’ve had less flaking and also less bunching up of foundation around my nose and between my eyebrows, which are generally pretty dry spots for me. So overall, I will likely end up repurchasing this when I finish it up (look for it in an upcoming empties post!)

Cleansing Cutie

IMG_2418

Last and, to be honest, kind of least, is the Cleansing Cutie. I didn’t go out of my way to get this, but it came in one of the sets. It is supposed to help you get deeper into your pores when cleansing, but I don’t really reach for it that often, and am not super excited about it. It looks like it would be good for cleaning makeup brushes though, so I might try it for that! I would not purchase this.

I hope you enjoyed this review! Let me know your favorite skincare products in the comments!

Link to products:

Maracuja Oil

Cleansing Gel (from this set)

Frxxxtion Stick (from this set)

Drink of H2O Hydrating Boost (I don’t see the exact set that I got, but it is available in this one)

Cleansing Cutie (from this set)

5 thoughts on “Review: tarte Skincare Selections

  1. Pingback: July Favorites! – Iris Beauty Spot

Leave a Reply

