Review: Urban Decay Vice Lipsticks

As you already know if you have read my blog posts before, lip products are my all-time favorite. If I could only ever wear one type of makeup ever again (gasp!), it would be lipstick. I think lipstick can really transform a look, pull you together, and even give you some more confidence. If you are wearing a killer lip color, you just HAVE to own it. If I am ever not feeling too great about myself before heading out, I like to put on a more dramatic lip color (bright, red, or deep, depending on the season and my mood), and it helps give me a little boost. I also feel like a bright lip can help distract from if I am looking particularly tired one day, since it calls the attention away from the eyes. However, I am also a sucker for a good nude. My mission has been to find the perfect “my lips but better” pinky-nude shade. Spoiler alert: I have found it and it is in this post!!

In terms of formula, I am a lover of liquid lipsticks because I love how long wearing they are, and how I can put them on and not really have to worry too much about them. I can do a post about my favorite liquid lipsticks if you are interested, just let me know in the comments!

However, I have recently rediscovered a love for traditional cream lipstick formulas. Three of the Vice lipsticks I am reviewing today are a cream formula, and one is a metallized. I’ll give my general thoughts here, then scroll down to see more photos including lip swatches!

These lipsticks feel SO GOOD on my lips–calling them “cream” is no joke because they go on so smooth and creamy and stay that way. You know that feeling when you press your lips together and they just glide? That’s how these feel even an hour after applying them. These lipsticks come in over 100 shades, everything from nudes, to metallic blue, to black. Pretty much any color you could desire, you will find in the Vice Lipstick range. They also come in a variety of finishes: sheer, cream, metallized, comfort matte, and mega matte. I would like to try more of the finishes to see what I like best, but for now I know that the cream is a winner.

These lipsticks are not the most long-wearing. I do find myself reapplying every couple hours, or just letting it fade away. They do fade quite nicely, with none of that horrible inside of the mouth is gone and you just have a lipstick line around the outside look which is soo attractive. For that reason, I tend to wear them mostly to work, where I can reapply as needed, or if I know I am only going to be wearing my makeup for a few hours. If I am going to be out all day and don’t want my lipstick to fade but also don’t want to reapply, I will go for a liquid formula.

Now…the colors! I have four (but want so many more…like 100?)

First up: Fuel. This is a cream formula and was recently released as part of the Naked Heat collection. There were two other colors also released with that collection, but I don’t have either of them. It has a beautiful copper and gold packaging, which I just love. I do think the Naked Heat palette looks beautiful, but as soon as I saw this lipstick, I fell in love. It is the perfect peachy-nude for my skin tone, and I am so happy that I have it. I believe this is limited edition, so if you are thinking about it, grab one now! I may have to get a backup so I won’t run out.

Next up: Liar. NowΒ this is the lipstick that is fulfilling my pinky-nude, my lips but better dreams. I can’t even say how obsessed I am with this color, except that it is a contender for my wedding day lip color, which I think speaks for itself!

Our next one, Ravenswood, is a bit similar to Liar, but it is deeper and has a bit more of a berry shade to it than a nude shade. This is a color that I can see myself reaching for nonstop in the fall!

Last, but certainly not least, Wildfire. This is the only mettalized one I have, the other three are cream formulas. This one still does feel incredibly creamy on the lips though. I was a bit nervous about this color, an orange with a shift of gold shimmer, but I think that it is actually really pretty and wearable!

Here are swatches of all the colors:

IMG_2540

I hope you enjoyed this review! I absolutely recommend these lipsticks to anyone, and look forward to trying more! Do you have any of the Urban Decay Vice lipsticks? Which colors or finishes are your favorite?

Product Link:Β https://www.urbandecay.com/vice-lipstick-by-urban-decay/ud771.html

3 thoughts on “Review: Urban Decay Vice Lipsticks

Leave a Reply

